REF-675 · Snarr & Esco, 2013 · Journal of Human Kinetics, · Paper · PubMed

Suspension (ring/TRX-style) push-ups raise pectoralis, anterior deltoid and triceps activation versus standard push-ups

A way to overload the pattern without external load

Blimited evidenceMeasured on recreational to trained athletesWritten before October 2026, being re-checked

Participants

n=21 apparently healthy adults: 15 men (25.93 ± 3.67 years) and 6 women (23.5 ± 1.97 years). Training status is not stated in the abstract.

Protocol

Four repetitions each of a suspension push-up and a traditional push-up, order randomised; mean peak and normalised EMG of pectoralis major, anterior deltoid and triceps brachii compared between exercises. No trunk/core muscle was recorded.

Key Findings

All three muscles were significantly more active in the suspension push-up (p < 0.05), both as mean peak and as normalised EMG.
Normalised activation (%MVC), suspension vs traditional: pectoralis major 69.54 ± 27.6 vs 63.62 ± 16.4; anterior deltoid 81.13 ± 17.77 vs 58.91 ± 20.3; triceps brachii 105.83 ± 18.54 vs 74.32 ± 16.9.
The authors' reading: the suspension push-up is an advanced variation of the traditional push-up for when a greater challenge is warranted.

Practical Application

In 21 healthy adults, moving the push-up onto suspension straps raised normalised activation of the triceps (74 → 106 %MVC), anterior deltoid (59 → 81) and pectoralis major (64 → 70). When there are no weights, rings/suspension push-ups are a valid step up in prime-mover demand.
Not from this paper; the base's own practice: master the stable push-up first, then add instability as a progression rather than a starting point.

Limitations

Single-session EMG (n=21); higher activation does not guarantee greater long-term hypertrophy/strength.
Only pectoralis major, anterior deltoid and triceps were measured — the study says nothing about core activation.
The pectoralis difference is small (about 6 %MVC) with wide spread; the clearer gaps are in the deltoid and triceps.
How this entry was checked and changed
Why this level

regraded 2026-09-27 from C: cross-sectional measurement study, n=21, no performance outcome

Content correction 2026-09-27
"raise core and prime-mover activation" -> no core muscle was recorded; the abstract reports pectoralis major, anterior deltoid and triceps brachii only. Core claim removed from title, findings and lead.
Added the abstract's %MVC values per muscle; the "master the stable push-up first" advice relabelled as the base's own practice.
Level C -> B (cross-sectional measurement study); Tier "mixed (trained adults)" -> Tier 1-2, training status not stated in the abstract.