Does a cigarette before a hard session cost anything?
In 16 men, the smoke of 3 cigarettes cut VO2max about 7% and time at VO2max 20%; CO alone 7% and 10%. Fitness not stated, 1983, from the abstract.
Klausen and colleagues asked what a few cigarettes cost at maximal exercise, and which part of that cost is carbon monoxide. Sixteen men were tested in the morning after about 8 h without smoking, after inhaling the smoke of three cigarettes, and after inhaling an amount of CO that gave the same CO saturation of the arterial blood as smoking.
VO2max fell by about 7% with both smoke and CO. Endurance time at VO2max fell 20% after smoke but only 10% after CO. Maximal heart rate fell and resting heart rate rose only after smoke, and peak lactate after maximal exercise was lower after smoke.
The authors read the VO2max loss as CO lowering the oxygen capacity of the blood, and the larger endurance loss as CO plus an increased cost of breathing from smoke particles; they suggest nicotine or another smoke component acts on the heart, raising it at rest and inhibiting it at maximal exercise.
Our reading: this is the only study in the base that separates the two costs of a cigarette in one design, and it is old, small and known to us only from a truncated abstract. The abstract does not describe trained endurance athletes, and the study does not test threshold work or say how long the effect lasts.
Protocol
Key Results
| Outcome, against control | Smoke of 3 cigarettes | CO to the same saturation |
|---|---|---|
| VO2max | about −7% | about −7% |
| Endurance time at VO2max | −20% | −10% |
| Maximal heart rate | significantly lower | not reported as changed |
| Resting heart rate | higher | not reported as changed |
| Peak lactate after maximal exercise | significantly lower | not reported as changed |
Mechanisms
Practical Application
Limitations
How this entry was checked and changed
(from the abstract) — three within-subject conditions in at least 15 participants with a performance outcome could reach the rubric's B+ as a controlled crossover, held one step down: the abstract is truncated at 250 words in PubMed, does not call it a crossover, and gives no order of conditions, no COHb value and no fitness data