Can a block of intervals close to the season still pay?
In 19 elite skiers, 5 weeks approaching competition, front-loading the same 11 HIT sessions raised peak power 4% vs −3% when spread. One small trial, one lab.
Rønnestad and colleagues compared two ways of organizing five weeks of endurance training in elite cross-country skiers approaching the competition period. The block group (BP, 10 skiers) did five high-intensity interval sessions (HIT) in week 1 and three in week 3, with one HIT session in each of the other weeks.
The traditional group (TRAD, 9 skiers) did two HIT sessions a week, three in week 3. Both did similar totals of HIT and of low-intensity training (LIT).
BP gained more peak power output (+4 ± 4% vs −3 ± 6%) and power output at 4 mmol/L blood lactate (+11 ± 10% vs +2 ± 4%; both P < 0.01), and VO2max rose 2 ± 2% in BP (P < 0.05) with no change in TRAD; the effect sizes for BP vs TRAD were moderate. The authors conclude that block periodization had superior effects on several endurance and performance indices.
Our reading: a positive result in high-level athletes close to the season, which argues against the idea that a block needs a long runway to pay; part of the peak-power difference is TRAD losing 3%, the VO2max comparison between groups is not reported in the abstract, and the trial comes from the same laboratory as the other positive block trials.
Protocol
Key Results
| Outcome (5 weeks) | BP (5-1-3-1-1 HIT) | TRAD (2-2-3-2-2 HIT) | Between groups |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peak power output | +4 ± 4% | −3 ± 6% | P < 0.01 |
| Power at 4 mmol/L lactate | +11 ± 10% | +2 ± 4% | P < 0.01 |
| VO2max | +2 ± 2% (P < 0.05) | no change | not reported in the abstract; "not greater" per REF-1216 |
| Effect sizes BP vs TRAD | moderate (abstract) | values not given in the abstract; REF-946 (full text) gives ES = 1.26 for 4-mmol power, "large" on its own scale |
Mechanisms
Practical Application
Limitations
How this entry was checked and changed
parallel RCT, n = 19 (10 block vs 9 traditional), below the rubric's 20 for B+; read from the abstract (closed access; no open copy via Europe PMC or OpenAlex). Protocol details below that the abstract lacks come from two citing full texts and are labelled