Low-cadence ("torque", "strength-endurance") riding
It does not build strength: lift for that, or with no gym ride all-out efforts against very high resistance; as an optional accent inside threshold or VO2max reps about 20% under preferred cadence it has small positive trials in well-trained riders, moderate grinding has a null trial, no low-cadence trial in the base shows an efficiency gain, and knee pain ends it (practice)
The question it answers
Default (what to prescribe first)
Not from a study; the base's own practice (dose, seated cue and placement): **strength comes from the gym (SYNTH-43).
If the athlete wants low-cadence riding, it goes inside a threshold or VO2max session already in the week: ride part of the reps seated at about 20% under the preferred cadence (roughly 65-75 rpm for a preferred 80-95 rpm; REF-084 rode 50-70 rpm), in one session a week for 2-3 weeks, then up to two sessions a week (the trials rode two or more) for the rest of a 6-8-week block, then rotate it out.
It is never sold as strength or efficiency work.** What that rests on:
Decision (who → what)
| Situation | Do this | Source and how sure |
|---|---|---|
| "I want to get stronger on the bike" | Lift heavy (SYNTH-43). Low-cadence intervals are not the strength lever | Heavy strength at ≥80% 1RM improved cycling performance (ES 0.46) and efficiency (ES 0.35) in 17 controlled trials, 262 cyclists (REF-743, A, GRADE low). Pedal force <54% of maximal dynamic force at any cadence tested (REF-119, B); 40-rpm moderate work did not change leg strength (REF-118, B+). No trial compares low-cadence intervals (as opposed to all-out on-bike resistance, next row) with the gym |
| No gym, no time, or will not lift | On-bike resistance instead of the gym: all-out efforts against very high resistance at very low cadence, 2×/week for about 10 weeks; it replaces a gym session, not adds to one (replacing is practice) | In 37 well-trained cyclists (male per the companion paper), it did not differ significantly from full squats on any parameter over 10 weeks (REF-158, B+; not proven equivalence; dose from the companion paper). In 46 well-trained men (VO2max 62.7), 2 weekly sessions of all-out pedal cycles against 70% of maximal dynamic force improved Wingate power, MAP, ventilatory thresholds and quadriceps CSA within the group; 4-min intervals against 35% beat control only on Wingate mean power, and high vs low load did not differ significantly (REF-428, A-; cadence not in the entry). Both trials are in men; for women it is transfer |
| Climber, hilly races, hill-climb TT | Optional: threshold reps ridden on a real climb at about 60 rpm, inside the threshold session already planned (placement is practice) | 18 male cyclists (VO2max 58.6), 4 weeks, 2×/week, 6 × 5 min at the power of the respiratory compensation point: uphill at 60 rev/min raised 20-min uphill TT power 4.4 ± 5.3% and flat 1.5 ± 4.5%; flat at 100 rev/min −1.3 ± 3.6% uphill, +2.6 ± 6.0% flat; but controls with no intervals gained 4.0 ± 4.6% uphill (REF-852, B; cadence and terrain changed together). Cadence falls on climbs anyway (REF-262, B; REF-884, B, professionals ~71 rpm on long passes) |
| Well-trained, polarized week, wants more from the hard days | Optional: ride the VO2max reps or 30-s sprints at 50-70 rpm for one 8-week block | REF-084 B+, 24 well-trained women — the only trial in women. Men: REF-259 B+ (intensity not stated). REF-1073 B, 18 road cyclists (sex not stated): sprints at 60-70 rpm beat 110-120 rpm, not the freely chosen cadence. Transfer between sexes is inference |
| Mountain bike, cyclocross, gravel | Same accent as the climber row; keep the heavy lifting (SYNTH-49, SYNTH-50) | Inference: no entry tests low-cadence training in off-road riders; every trial is road or laboratory riding |
| Loses power or stalls on steep grades | Check gearing first (practice): lower gears before torque training. Then the climber row if the athlete still wants it | No entry studies this rider. Less-trained non-cyclist men chose lower cadences that fell as power rose (~80 rpm at 75 W to ~65 rpm at 175 W) while cyclists held 90-100 rpm (REF-881, B, short lab bouts) — a lower cadence on hard efforts is what they did, not a proven fault |
| Wants better efficiency | Do not prescribe it for that (SYNTH-17) | Gross efficiency was unchanged after 40-rpm work (REF-118, B+); after REF-259 it rose in the high-cadence group at 90 and 110 rpm and is not reported as changed in the low-cadence group (B+); REF-084 and REF-428 do not report it |
| Wants tempo / sweet-spot "grinding" (40-60 rpm) | Not as a main protocol, and not as strength work (for 50-60 rpm this is practice); do not tell the athlete it does nothing | 12 weeks of 5 × 6 min at 40 rpm and 73-82% HRmax changed nothing in veterans, while the same 90 min a week at free cadence improved VO2max and 30-min power (REF-118, B+). Lower-force 4-min torque intervals (35% of maximal dynamic force, cadence not stated) beat control on Wingate mean power (REF-428, A-). 50-60 rpm at moderate intensity is untested in the base, and 73-82% HRmax sits below sweet-spot, so low-cadence sweet-spot is untested too (applying the 40-rpm null to it is transfer) |
| Novice (Tier 0-1), or masters | Novice: skip it; coach gearing (SYNTH-55). Masters: same default; no masters trial at high intensity | Practice. The only masters trial is the 40-rpm null (REF-118) |
| Crit, track, cyclocross starts: needs fast legs | High-cadence intervals rather than low (SYNTH-55) | High-cadence intervals raised preferred cadence 92 → 101 rpm and gross efficiency at 90 and 110 rpm (REF-259, B+), but the low-cadence group gained more on the 15-min TT; no trial tests crit, track or start performance, so the event use is inference |
How to progress and where it sits in the week
Indoor (ERG) vs outdoor climbs
When NOT to use it / red flags
What the evidence does and does not show
Evidence gaps
How this entry was checked and changed
(the accent rests on two small B+ parallel trials, REF-084 in 24 women and REF-259 in 16 men, and one B trial whose controls gained as much uphill REF-852, set against an A- review with no strong evidence of benefit REF-117 and a B+ null at 40 rpm REF-118; the strength verdict on the B+ leg-strength null REF-118, a B measurement study REF-119 and an A meta-analysis of heavy lifting (GRADE low) REF-743; the no-gym option on a B+ RCT REF-158 and an A- RCT that measured performance and quadriceps size, not strength REF-428, both in men; every dose, cue and placement rule is house practice)