Smoking, heated tobacco, vaping, hookah and nicotine
Smoke right before a session costs oxygen and time, a hookah can reach the next morning, heated tobacco and vapes add less CO and nothing shown buys speed; say it once, read heart rate and HRV in that light; race week is a poor first day without nicotine, but wanting to stop always wins; hour windows and that rule are practice
The question it answers
An athlete uses cigarettes, heated tobacco, a vape, a hookah or another nicotine product, or asks about them. What does each cost a session, a race and months of training; what do the hours between use and the session change; how are heart rate and HRV read; and what does the assistant say, once?
Short answer: ask what and when; smoke costs the session in front of it and a hookah can reach the next morning; heated tobacco and vapes add less CO than a cigarette and nothing has been shown to make the athlete faster; the windows are practice; numbers are read in that light; race week is a poor first day without nicotine (practice), yet wanting to stop now always wins; and whoever wants to stop is pointed to proven help.
What this guide owns and what it leaves
| Owns (decided here) | Leaves to |
|---|---|
| What each product costs a session, a race and a season; the hours table; what the assistant says | Heart-rate anchors → SYNTH-38; the warm-up test → SYNTH-41; which device number to trust → SYNTH-91; the low-readiness ladder → SYNTH-30 |
| Reading heart rate and HRV after smoke, nicotine or a hookah | Alcohol on the same evening → SYNTH-77; sleep and caffeine timing → SYNTH-07; supplements and caffeine dose → SYNTH-67 |
| Nicotine in the heat and on race morning, as a caution | Heat acclimation and hot-race planning → SYNTH-04; illness, chest symptoms and the return → SYNTH-36 |
| The one-line pointer for anyone who wants to stop | Quitting itself → a doctor or stop-smoking service; the base holds no entry on quitting products; medications and training → SYNTH-20, which has no cessation-drug row |
| One line on fractures and surgery | Injury rules → SYNTH-94 and SYNTH-73; the clinician leads |
Default — the decision, in order (what to prescribe first)
Not from a study; the base's own practice for the order of steps, every hour window, the race-week rule and the wording; the sources say what each step rests on:
Ask what, how much and when, then say the cost once: no smoke for about 4 h before a key session or race, no hookah the evening before, nothing during; the hours are practice from half-lives. Product and timing decide the answer, as dose does in SYNTH-77 (B). Say it plainly, do not repeat it in later replies unless asked, and never make quitting a condition of help: state the trade and let the athlete choose (SYNTH-77).
The session decides how much it matters. Easy session: go ahead, judge it by effort and do not read the numbers. Key session or test inside the window: later in the day or another day if the week allows (SYNTH-26); if it stays, expect less and do not read the result as lost fitness.
The base shows the cost at maximal work (REF-1456, B) and at the maximal lactate steady state (MLSS) with CO alone (REF-1459, B+); it has no measurement at easy intensity, and "threshold goes first" or "key sessions suffer most" was not tested.
Moving the first cigarette of the day after a key morning session is the cheapest change for a daily smoker: the night is already a long gap (practice, from half-lives; nothing measured). Rehearse it on training days first, as a caffeine plan is rehearsed (SYNTH-67, its own practice), not first on race morning.
A craving in the session: keep moving, no smoke during it. In abstaining smokers a 5-40 minute bout cut the urge by about two standard deviations against sitting, rated right after or 5 minutes after (REF-1457, A-). Nobody rated it mid-session, in hard training or in athletes, so this is the nearest evidence, not a measured mid-ride effect.
Heated tobacco or a vape instead of a cigarette: less CO is supported, free is not. Ten puffs of IQOS or JUUL did not raise exhaled CO and the cigarette did (REF-1464, B); COHb was lower after switching in trials all funded by tobacco companies (REF-1463, A-).
Nicotine's own effects stay (REF-1471, B+), airway resistance rose after a vape, by a size of unknown meaning for exercise (REF-1473, B-), and none of it was measured before exercise in athletes.
Before a race the choice is the athlete's and the base offers no product as a swap; during a race, none: nothing was measured, no gain was found (REF-1461, B) and heat strain rose in non-users (REF-1462, B). Between stages use the hours table.
A hookah is the large CO dose. Not the evening before a key session or race; no session of any kind in the first hours after one, whatever step 2 says of easy sessions; the morning after is easy, or the key session goes later or a day on (practice, on REF-1458, B-, REF-1460, B, and half-lives). Headache, dizziness or nausea after a hookah is a red flag, not a session.
Read heart rate and HRV in that light. Ask about use before calling a number fatigue or lost fitness; compare only like with like, at the same time since last use (SYNTH-41, SYNTH-38); read HRV as a trend (SYNTH-91, SYNTH-30).
Smoke raised resting heart rate and lowered maximal heart rate (REF-1456), a nicotine vape raised resting heart rate (REF-1471), CO raised heart rate at MLSS (REF-1459), and heart rate per unit of oxygen rose after a hookah (REF-1468, B-). No entry measured HRV after tobacco: that part is practice, by analogy with alcohol (SYNTH-77).
Do not propose race week or race morning as a first day without nicotine (practice, not evidence); wanting to stop now always wins. It rests on the general course of withdrawal, which the base does not hold; REF-1469 (B) does not show it, because nobody exercised abstinent without snus.
It is a point about one race, not a reason to keep using: an athlete who wants to stop now is helped now (step 9) and the race comes second; one who asks when suits training hears "after the A race or in a base block, unless you would rather go sooner"; one who has already stopped is supported, never told to go back.
This is not a licence for a race dose: nicotine is never presented as a performance aid (REF-1461).
Whoever wants to stop gets a pointer, not a programme: a doctor or stop-smoking service has proven help; the assistant advises no product and no dose.
It can say what the training side has shown: 6-7 days off went with longer treadmill time and lower exercise heart rate in 11 young men, uncontrolled (REF-1467, B-), and men who stopped tracked non-smokers' fitness decline over 7.2 years (REF-1465, B+, observational). Dependence, or using to cope → the same pointer (SYNTH-77).
Injured and smoking: in mostly surgical fracture patients, current or former smokers had 2.5 times the odds of non-union, an association (REF-1470, A-); the clinician leads, and stress fractures are a transfer (no such data in that review).
The hours around a session — measured or estimate
MEASURED = a study measured this, at about this time, in the people named. ESTIMATE = nobody measured it: the base's practice from half-lives, and no cell marked ESTIMATE carries an entry's level. Half-lives: CO about 4 h at rest breathing air, nicotine about 2 h, the slow end of the 1-2 h that REF-1461's authors cite (REF-1464), so the nicotine left is an upper estimate.
These figures are common pharmacology, not measured by any entry in the base; the evidence map read them in two reviews outside it (Pan 2020, DOI 10.3390/ijerph17020528; Benowitz 2009, DOI 10.1007/978-3-540-69248-5_2; suggested level C+ for each if entered).
| When | Cigarettes | Hookah | Vape / heated tobacco |
|---|---|---|---|
| Right before the session | MEASURED: smoke of 3 cigarettes, VO2max about −7%, time at VO2max −20%, resting heart rate up, maximal heart rate down, in 16 men; gap to the test not stated; one cigarette not tested (REF-1456, B, truncated abstract). CO alone: REF-1459, B+ | MEASURED: within 0.5 h of 45 min, CO level 3.7 to 24.4 ppm, VO2 1.86 to 1.7 L/min, oxygen pulse 10.89 to 9.97 mL/beat, effort harder, in 24 young men (REF-1468, B-, pilot). COHb 2.0% to 17.6% after 30 min (REF-1458, B-) | MEASURED, markers only: 10 puffs, no exhaled CO rise; plasma nicotine 62% (IQOS) and 48% (JUUL) of a cigarette's, about 55% ad lib (REF-1464, B); nicotine vape, resting heart rate SMD 0.71 (REF-1471, B+). Performance right before: not measured. Nearest, ~55 min after a vape in non-smokers: VO2peak 2.3 vs 2.3 L/min (REF-1472, B) |
| 3-4 h before | ESTIMATE: about half of the CO that smoke added and a quarter to a third of the nicotine are left. A key session can go ahead with less expected of it; longer is better. Performance not measured | ESTIMATE: half of a large dose is still large; arithmetic from REF-1458's mean gives COHb about 10%, with a wide spread. No hard session. Performance not measured | ESTIMATE: less CO to clear than after a cigarette, not none (REF-1463); a quarter to a third of the nicotine left. No CO window is set, which does not make it safe; resting heart rate may still read high. Performance not measured |
| A day before | ESTIMATE: by half-life arithmetic little of that use's CO and nicotine is left, though the same nicotine review reports a slow 11-h tail at low levels and build-up over a day of regular use. A daily smoker's cost comes from the next ones, not this one. Performance not measured | MEASURED, marker only: exhaled CO still raised 10 h after, size not stated, in 32 students (REF-1460, B). ESTIMATE: about a sixth of the added CO at 10 h, little by 24 h; next-morning performance not measured. Morning after: easy, or key session later | ESTIMATE: little of that use's nicotine is left by half-life arithmetic, so no timing rule; regular use is the next row. Performance not measured |
| Regular use vs none | MEASURED, associations: 4,358 male 16-km racers, slower with training controlled, coefficient 0.10 (REF-1466, B+); men 40-59 over 7.2 years, fitness −217 vs −86 J/kg (REF-1465, B+, abstract). 6-7 days off: longer treadmill time, lower exercise heart rate, VO2max unchanged (REF-1467, B-) | No entry in the base. ESTIMATE: repeated large CO doses, read with the cigarette column; say it is not measured here | MEASURED, vape, one-time comparison: 26 low-fit young users vs 16 non-users, VO2peak 27.9 vs 32.3 mL/kg/min, absolute 2.0 vs 2.2 L/min not different, no link with cotinine or years of use (REF-1474, B). Heated tobacco: no fitness entry; COHb lower than continued smoking, about 52% overall and about 21% at ≥ 4 weeks, our back-calculation (REF-1463, A-, industry-funded) |
Reading it: the half-life arithmetic assumes rest, air and one episode.
A half-life at rest is not one during exercise or on oxygen: CO clears faster with faster breathing and far faster on oxygen, and more slowly with more haemoglobin mass (outside the base, from the evidence map: Zavorsky 2012, DOI 10.1249/MSS.0b013e3182602a00; Zavorsky 2014, DOI 10.14814/phy2.12237), so 4 h is no clock, and neither easy movement nor oxygen is offered as a way to clear a session.
The arithmetic covers CO and nicotine only, not the breathing cost the authors assign to smoke particles (REF-1456). It says nothing about how much of the session comes back at a given hour, because the base holds no COHb level for a given performance cost (REF-1459 gives none). The rows are a way to talk about timing, never a promise that a session is clear.
Red flags — when it is not a tobacco question
Key Findings — what the evidence shows
Smoke costs more than its CO at maximal work. VO2max fell about 7% with the smoke of 3 cigarettes and with CO to the same saturation; time at VO2max fell 20% against 10%; resting heart rate rose and maximal heart rate fell only after smoke, and peak lactate fell after smoke; the authors assign the extra loss to the breathing cost of particles, which was not measured in what the abstract reports (REF-1456, B, 16 men, 1983, truncated abstract, no COHb).
VO2max is limited mainly by oxygen delivery (PHYS-09, established), which fits the CO part.
CO alone costs high-end and threshold-type work, and fitness does not protect. Against sham (ramp tests, n = 20): VO2peak −4.2%, peak power −3.3%, respiratory compensation point −6.3%; the gas exchange threshold change, −3.3%, was not significant (P = 0.077).
At MLSS (n = 16) heart rate, ventilation, peripheral fatigue and perceptual strain were worse and lactate went from 5.5 mM at 10 min to 6.8 at 30, drifting more than 1 mmol/L in 9 of 16, the fitter ones (VO2peak 66 vs 56 mL/kg fat-free mass/min); falls correlated with fitness at r −0.45 and −0.49 (REF-1459, B+, abstract).
CO by rebreathing in people not described as smokers, COHb not given.
One hookah is a large CO dose that outlasts the evening. COHb 2.0% to 17.6% (± 8.8) and plasma nicotine 1.2 to 18.8 ng/mL after 30 min in 47 young adults; endothelial function unchanged; no cigarette arm (REF-1458, B-).
Exhaled CO about 7.5-fold that of an indoor cigarette session with equal tobacco, lower outdoors, with cotinine comparable; still raised at 10 h, size not given and not that 7.5-fold (REF-1460, B, 32 students, marker only).
Half an hour after 45 min: lower VO2 and oxygen pulse, harder effort, resting systolic pressure 118.9 to 129.2 mmHg (REF-1468, B-, 24 young men, fixed order, 10-min test).
Heated tobacco and vapes spare CO against a cigarette; "none" is not settled. Exhaled CO rose only with the cigarette, 5.2 to 8.7 ppm after 10 puffs and to 16.6 after ad lib use; IQOS and JUUL stayed flat; plasma nicotine IQOS 12.7, JUUL 9.8, cigarette 20.4 ng/mL; craving fell with all three after 10 puffs; heart rate and blood pressure were recorded and not reported (REF-1464, B, 18 smokers new to both devices).
After switching, COHb was lower than with continued smoking (log mean difference −0.74, about 52% lower; −0.24, about 21% lower, at ≥ 4 weeks; I² 96%), 9 of the review's 11 RCTs, all 11 funded by tobacco companies, six with a clinic stay; against quitting all tobacco the COHb difference is very low certainty (REF-1463, A-).
Nicotine without smoke moves the numbers at rest, not visibly at effort. Nicotine vape, before vs after: heart rate SMD 0.71, systolic 0.38, diastolic 0.52, no significant spirometry change (REF-1471, B+, abstract, 919 people). Airway resistance about 0.04 kPa/(L/s) higher after 5 min in 30 smokers (REF-1473, B-).
About 55 min after 20 inhalations in 20 non-smokers: no clear change in VO2peak or peak power (201.0 vs 204.8 W), heart rate unchanged, resting diastolic pressure 3 mmHg higher (REF-1472, B). No heart-rate difference at about 170 beats/min in a time trial (REF-1461).
No nicotine product has been shown to buy speed. Ten well-trained cyclists (VO2peak 71 mL/kg/min) rode about 1 h in 62.9 min on 2-mg gum, 62.6 on a 7-mg patch and 63.3 on placebo (P = 0.73); typical error 2.5%, so a small effect is not excluded; non-users, 18-22 °C, and the gum delivered little (REF-1461, B).
Snus-using athletes lasted 24.1 vs 20.9 min at 80% VO2max when snus followed 12 h off rather than their usual state, with snus in both trials, so neither "withdrawal costs performance" nor "nicotine is ergogenic" was tested (REF-1469, B).
Nicotine adds heat strain, in non-users. At 30 °C an overnight 7-mg patch raised core temperature 0.4 ± 0.5 °C more than placebo (0.1 ± 0.7 °C at 20 °C), skin blood flow fell progressively, and 2 of 10 trained men did not finish the hot nicotine trial; no measured effect of nicotine on time-trial power, with the handling of the non-finishers not stated (REF-1462, B, abstract).
Habitual users are untested. Heat already gives the heart a second job (PHYS-28, established).
Moving lowers the urge. Strength of desire SMD −1.91 (−2.59 to −1.22), desire to smoke −2.03 (−2.60 to −1.46), 19 randomised trials, I² 92-94%, every study in the same direction; moderate exercise did at least as well; isometric exercise did least; light cycling did not differ from sitting (REF-1457, A-). Not a quit-rate result.
Regular smoking goes with slower races and faster loss; stopping points the right way. 16-km time slower with training controlled, coefficient 0.10, 6.9% regular smokers among the racers, and in 6,592 conscripts 12-min distance was inversely related to cigarettes a day and years of smoking (coefficient for smoking −0.14), apparent even in light smokers, a finding from conscripts, not racers; both coefficients are small (REF-1466, B+, survey).
Fitness −217 vs −86 J/kg and FEV1 −271 vs −116 mL over 7.2 years; 199 men who stopped tracked non-smokers (REF-1465, B+, abstract, healthy men 40-59). Young vapers: REF-1474, B, in the table, a gap that does not show in absolute VO2peak or peak work.
Bone and wounds. Non-union OR 2.50 (1.73-3.61), deep surgical site infection OR 2.04; delayed union and time to union not significantly different on small analyses; stopping at least 4 weeks before any surgery was associated with less wound infection than continuing (OR 0.37, 0.16-0.89); no cessation study in fracture patients met the criteria, and the only bone outcome listed for stopping is one spinal-fusion study (REF-1470, A-, mostly non-randomised, patients; "smokers" includes former smokers).
It does not show: any result in trained endurance athletes who smoke; performance 3-4 h or a day after any product; what one cigarette costs; how much COHb costs how much performance; that threshold is lost before VO2max, or that key sessions suffer most; that an athlete performs worse abstinent; any effect of heated tobacco on heart rate, breathing or performance; what a hookah does to sleep, HRV or muscle recovery; whether habitual users keep the nicotine heat effect; that smoke, snus, gum or a patch helps an endurance athlete; that fractures heal slower beyond non-union; anything about stress fractures.
Conflicts and how they are resolved
Practical Application — how the assistant says it
What NOT to do
Evidence gaps
Limitations
How this entry was checked and changed
(the direction — smoke and CO cost maximal and threshold-type work on the day, a hookah is a large CO dose still measurable at 10 h, heated tobacco and vapes add less CO than a cigarette and do not remove nicotine's own effects, no nicotine product has been shown to buy speed, regular smoking goes with slower races and faster fitness loss — rests on B+ and B entries: REF-1459 (B+, abstract), REF-1456 (B, truncated abstract), REF-1465 and REF-1466 (B+, observational, abstracts), REF-1461, REF-1462 and REF-1464 (B); the A- reviews carry side questions only: craving REF-1457, heated-tobacco biomarkers in industry-funded trials REF-1463, non-union REF-1470. B-, not B, because the default's main question, the hours before a session, has no performance measurement at all; because every hour window, the morning-after rule, the race-week rule and the wording are practice; because no entry measures the half-lives it uses; and because no study measured trained endurance athletes who smoke, and the CO cost has no COHb level attached)