Choosing gym exercises, training at home with kettlebells or dumbbells, and circuits
Build the session on a few heavy multi-joint lifts and add an extra only for a named reason; with light home weights go single-leg, add reps and end the last set nearer failure; a heavy circuit saves time with no detected strength cost, a light one is a fallback, and neither replaces aerobic sessions
The question it answers
Which exercise ("keep the Pallof press?", "a lying curl for a standing single-leg curl?", "10-12 reps for upper-body endurance on the bars?"), what to do with only kettlebells or dumbbells and a pull-up bar, and what a circuit is for ("why a circuit?", "can one with run bouts replace aerobic volume?"). Sets and sessions are SYNTH-105 and SYNTH-43 / SYNTH-44; the next number is SYNTH-101; HYROX stations are SYNTH-71.
Default (what to prescribe first)
Decision
| Situation | Choice | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Pallof press; best for obliques | Keep it if done cleanly; pair it with a trunk exercise of another kind (side plank, a loaded free-weight move); none is shown best (practice) | No trial in the base compares named trunk exercises on a training outcome; free-weight exercises drew the most external-oblique EMG and stability exercises the most internal-oblique, no exercises named (REF-1633, B-, a marker, healthy adults); in 21 male college athletes of mixed sports a programme with the Pallof press and side plank raised plank time within the group, economy no different from control (REF-1019, B-); planks vs anti-rotation has no head-to-head trial (REF-1018, B+) |
| Lying curl for a standing single-leg curl | Yes, as a swap; a seated curl, if there is one, is the pick for hamstring size | Seated 14% vs lying 9% growth after 12 weeks of 5 × 10 at 70% 1RM twice a week; both legs then about equally protected from an eccentric bout (REF-1634, B+, 20 adults, training status unstated); a standing curl acting like the lying one is that entry's inference; no trial tests it |
| Two curls, no leg extension | One knee-flexion exercise beside the hinge; a runner who sprints swaps the second curl for a Nordic; a leg extension is optional, the squat or leg press loads the front of the thigh (practice); a masters cyclist may add it | More exercises did not predict more gain (REF-1478, B+); Nordic programmes about halved hamstring injuries (REF-766, A), low volume matching high for eccentric strength after 6+ weeks (REF-887, A-); 3 weeks of knee extensions raised the cycling efficiency of 9 masters endurance athletes, sport not stated (REF-860, B, no non-lifting control; SYNTH-43) |
| Upper-body endurance to hold the bars | 2-3 sets of 10-12, short of failure, rows and back extensions included, plus the trunk block; not 25-30-rep sets (practice) | As in the Default (REF-1509, REF-1510, REF-1476); trunk training raised local muscular endurance most (REF-1632, A-); riders with low back pain had weaker back-extensor endurance in small observational studies, no training tested (REF-1266, B); no trial tests training for the bars |
| Only kettlebells | Goblet squat, split squat or step-up, single-leg Romanian deadlift, swing, press, row, twice a week; a road or TT rider keeps one two-legged lift as heavy as the bells allow (practice); for a cyclist, SYNTH-43's no-gym prescription (all-out on-bike efforts against very high resistance, 2×/week) can carry the heavy leg work, with the bells for the rest (practice); a runner hears that the running-economy evidence is for heavy loads (SYNTH-44) | The barbell raised back-squat 1RM more over 6 weeks, jump did not differ, and only that group trained the test lift (REF-1636, B+, 30 young men); kettlebell effects typically trivial to small (REF-1635, B-); two-legged lifting improved economy where alternating single-leg lifting did not (REF-148, B, pilot); low-cadence all-out efforts matched squats in well-trained cyclists (REF-158, B+) |
| Dumbbells and a pull-up bar | Dumbbell versions of the default, single-leg if light; pull-ups (assisted or lowering-only, then reps, then load) and push-ups or a press, by SYNTH-101's bodyweight row (practice) | 6RM band push-ups raised bench 1RM like the bench press over 5 weeks in trained students (REF-671, B+), progressive push-ups over 4 in moderately trained men (REF-673, B+); no entry tests pull-up progressions |
| "Why a circuit?" | Shorter, not stronger: exercises alternated, main lifts heavy; a cyclist after sprint power keeps long rests on the heavy lift (inference) | In 33 trained lifters, 6RM circuits with about 35 s between sets matched 3-min rests for bench and half-squat 1RM and lean mass over 8 weeks; only long rests raised Wingate peak power (REF-1639, B+); supersets cut sessions about 37%, 1RM SMD 0.10 (−0.40 to 0.60, three small trials), RPE higher (REF-1495, A-) |
| Circuit with run bouts for part of the aerobic volume | No: a circuit is added to the running, not swapped for it (SYNTH-44); a runner short of time keeps the runs, shortens the circuit or moves it to another day (practice) | 5-km gains over 12 weeks did not differ detectably between 3 runs with 3 CrossFit sessions and 5 runs, but VO2max rose more on 5 runs (4.3 vs 1.78 mL/kg/min) (REF-1501, B-, 21 recreational runners); circuits: VO2max +6.3%, maximal aerobic speed or power +0.3%, before-after, no endurance athletes named (REF-1638, B+); kettlebells left aerobic fitness unchanged (REF-1637, B+, workers); strength is added to running, not swapped for it (SYNTH-44) |
| "Why the upper body in a circuit?" | Time: pair a push with a pull, or upper with lower body; not two exercises for the same muscle (practice) | Push-pull pairs allowed more reps (SMD 0.68, two studies, low certainty), same-muscle pairs lost volume load (SMD −1.08) (REF-1495, A-, acute sessions in mostly young trained lifters); circuits raised bench 1RM against control in healthy adults (REF-1494, B+) |
| Runner: circuit or heavy lifting | Heavy or explosive lifting; the circuit is the no-load fallback (SYNTH-44) | All three raised 1RM, jump and vVO2max; economy improved with explosive and later maximal work and was not reported to after the circuit (n = 7, no between-group test; REF-1641, B); isometric and plyometric work beat a bodyweight circuit on a 2.4-km time trial (REF-1157, B) |
How to progress / periodise
When NOT to use it / red flags
What the evidence does and does not show
Evidence gaps
How this entry was checked and changed
the direction rests on B+ trials and reviews, most read from abstracts (curls, kettlebells, circuits, load and muscular endurance), A- pools on trunk training and supersets (REF-1632, REF-1495) and ACSM's 2026 stand (REF-1476, A); B-, not B, because the default's picks (which trunk move, which curl, the upper-body reps, the home rules of single-leg work, slower lowering and nearness to failure) are the base's practice, and the two runner trials of circuits are B with arms of 7-11 (REF-1641, REF-1157); who was measured, mostly untrained or recreational adults, belongs on the Tier line, not in the level